Home / Best apps to learn a language / French

Best apps to learn French (2026): 12 apps reviewed

Prices and language coverage checked in September 2026.

What matters when you learn French

French has 396 million speakers by the 2026 report of the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, 65% of them in Africa. That count uses a new method, which adds children aged 6 to 9 who can read and are schooled in French in the countries of the South; by the old method, the one behind the 321 million of 2022, the figure is 348 million. Every big app sells a French course, and nearly all of them teach the French of France; Mango Languages is the one structured course in Canadian French. The bigger difference is the free plan: Busuu and Duolingo can be followed to the end without paying, Babbel and Pimsleur cannot.

English speakers start ahead on the page: about 28% of the words in an English dictionary come from French and another 28% from Latin (Finkenstaedt and Wolff, 1973), although the most common English words are Germanic. The head start stops at the ear, and the ear is what to test an app on. Free input is everywhere (TV5MONDE’s exercises, RFI’s slow news bulletin, 4,242 French ebooks on Project Gutenberg), so the paid part should be what the free material lacks: a syllabus, or a person who corrects you.

The US Foreign Service Institute puts French in category I (of I to IV), about 750 class hours for an English speaker to reach professional working proficiency.

France or Quebec: every big course teaches one French

Duolingo, Babbel, Busuu, Pimsleur and Speak each teach one French and none of them has a Canadian course; Babbel’s French page says “Most learners start with standard European French”. Quebec French sounds different (tu comes out like “tsu”), has its own everyday words (magasiner for to shop, fin de semaine for weekend, courriel for email) and says tu to strangers sooner, and Belgium and Switzerland count septante and nonante for 70 and 90. The only structured Canadian French course we found is Mango’s, 95 lessons; for Quebec listening there are LingQ’s two Quebec courses, Dreaming French’s Quebec guide and Radio-Canada’s podcasts, and Preply lists 548 Canadian French tutors. Learn standard French, and add Quebec listening early if Canada is where you are going.

Written French hides the spoken language

French spelling keeps letters nobody says (the plural -s, the -ent of finissaient), and liaison joins words (les amis). In conversation the ne of a negation mostly disappears: adult corpora from the 1990s on keep it in 1.8% to 18.8% of negations, 8.2% in Paris, so you hear “je sais pas”. In five corpora of speech from France, Belgium and Quebec, nous is at most 4.4% of the subjects that mean we; on does the rest. A 2011 study in the journal Language timed French read aloud at 7.18 syllables a second against 6.19 for English (Spanish was faster, at 7.82). Pick apps with native audio beside every text, and listen for hours beside any course.

Gender, past tenses and false friends

Every noun is masculine or feminine, and about 80% of nouns have an ending that predicts which (Lyster, 2006); learn the rest with the article. Every past sentence makes you choose between the passé composé and the imparfait, and the 19th-century classics tell their stories in the passé simple, a tense of written French only. The shared vocabulary helps, but check the false friends: actuellement means currently, librairie a bookshop, attendre to wait for, sensible sensitive and éventuellement maybe. Kwiziq and Babbel explain the grammar; Duolingo and Pimsleur leave most of it implicit.

Where the courses stop

Duolingo labels its French course B2, and we found no independent test of the label. Busuu’s course page says A1 to B2 and its help centre A1 to C1; Babbel runs to B2 with extra content into C1; TV5MONDE stops at B2 and Mango at B1. Pimsleur names no level, and one learner who finished all five levels put their speaking at about B1. Past B2 no course carries you: books, radio, podcasts and people do.

Exams, residence and Canada

The DELF (A1 to B2) and DALF (C1, C2) are one exam per level, pass or fail, with a diploma valid for life; in 2026 they cost US$135 (A1) to US$245 (C1, C2) at L’Alliance New York and Alliance Française de Chicago. The TCF and TEF are scored tests valid for two years, with Canada versions for immigration. Since 1 January 2026 France asks for A2 for a first multi-year residence card, B1 for a first 10 year resident card and B2 for naturalisation, plus a civic exam of 40 questions (pass at 32). In Canada’s Express Entry, NCLC 7 in all four French skills adds 50 points with CLB 5 in English (25 with a lower English score or none), and 2026 had 10 French-language draws with 50,500 invitations by 16 September.

The apps, reviewed for French

  1. 1

    Best free daily course

    Duolingo

    Gamified course A0 to B1

    The French course runs to B2 by Duolingo’s own label and was rebuilt in September 2025 and February 2026; an unofficial tracker counts 994 units and 1,147 short Stories. Duolingo does not say which French it teaches and has no Canadian French course. It builds a daily habit better than it trains your ear for spoken French.

    Good

    • Every lesson stays free: on a phone the Energy meter limits the pace, not the content, and the web version runs on hearts with no ads.
    • 1,147 short Stories for reading and listening beside the lessons, by the unofficial tracker’s count (data of March 2026).

    Where it stops

    • On a phone, free study stops after about 2 to 3 lessons a day when Energy runs out, by a third-party count, and we found no independent test of the B2 label.
    • Video Call, the AI conversation practice that has French, is not on the free plan; Duolingo is moving it into Super during 2026.
    • Coverage for French: One French, not named, no Canadian course; B2 by Duolingo’s label; 994 units and 1,147 Stories by an unofficial tracker
    • Free: Every lesson. On a phone each exercise costs 1 of 25 Energy, which refills in about a day, or sooner with ads, gems or runs of right answers; a third-party count puts it at 2 to 3 lessons a day, with ads between lessons. The web version runs on hearts instead, with no ads.
    • Price: Super costs US$12.99 to US$16.99 a month or US$83.99 to US$119.99 a year (US$7 to US$10 a month) in reports from May to September 2026; Duolingo publishes no price list, and the US App Store shows US$9.99 to US$119.99 without labels. A Lite tier at US$35.99 a year (twice the daily Energy) is reported, and Max is closed to new subscribers.
    • Platforms: iOS, Android, web

    Best for: A free daily French habit from zero; on a laptop, without the Energy cap.

  2. 2

    Best free course with corrections

    Busuu

    Structured course A1 to B2

    Busuu’s French page says a free account can work through the whole Complete French course in order, with ads: 330+ lessons, A1 to B2 on the course page, although the help centre says A1 to C1. French speakers in the community correct your written and spoken answers. Next to Duolingo, it is the free course to choose if you want a syllabus rather than a game.

    Good

    • The Complete French course is free in order with ads, per Busuu’s French page of June 2026, and Busuu also lists side courses in pronunciation, travel, business and life in France.
    • Community corrections: French speakers edit your written and spoken answers, on the free plan too.

    Where it stops

    • Two ceilings from one vendor, A1 to B2 on the course page and A1 to C1 in the help centre, and no Canadian French.
    • Busuu Conversations, the AI speaking practice, needs Premium Plus and a phone after a few free tries; grammar and vocabulary review are Premium.
    • Coverage for French: 330+ lessons, A1 to B2 on the course page (A1 to C1 in the help centre); no Canadian course
    • Free: The complete French course in order, with ads, community corrections and basic progress tracking; Premium features can be tried up to three times.
    • Price: Premium US$12.49 a month or US$72.99 a year (US$6.08 a month), Premium Plus US$14.90 a month or US$87.90 a year (US$7.33 a month) on busuu.com during the running promotion; the US App Store lists US$9.99 a month, US$79.99 a year and US$139.99 a year for Premium Plus.
    • Platforms: iOS, Android, web

    Best for: A1 to B2 learners who want a syllabus they can use free and a French speaker checking their answers.

  3. 3

    Best structured course

    Babbel

    Structured course A1 to B2

    One French course, in the “standard European French” that Babbel says most learners start with, with grammar explained inside the lessons and no ads. Babbel’s own labels run it to B2, with extra content that extends into C1. It is the paid syllabus we would pick for French; Busuu gives you a similar course free with ads.

    Good

    • Grammar explained inside every lesson, and voice recognition from the first one (“Start Speaking From Lesson One”, in Babbel’s words).
    • Babbel Speak, an AI conversation partner in beta that covers French, offers sample lessons and conversations free to registered users, for a limited time.

    Where it stops

    • The course proper ends at B2; past it there are extra topics, not a C1 course, and there is no Canadian French.
    • No live teacher for individual subscribers since Babbel Live ended in July 2025, and the free part is one lesson.
    • Coverage for French: Standard European French to B2, with content into C1, by Babbel’s labels; no Canadian course
    • Free: One free lesson once you create an account, plus sample lessons and conversations with Babbel Speak, free for a limited time.
    • Price: US$17.99 a month or US$45.99 for 3 months (US$15.33 a month) for French in the US App Store, where a year of all languages costs US$107.99 (US$9 a month); on babbel.com, which has no monthly plan, a year costs US$107.40 (US$8.95 a month) and lifetime US$299.99.
    • Platforms: iOS, Android, web

    Best for: A1 to B2 learners who want French grammar in order, no games and no ads, and will pay for it.

  4. 4

    Best for speaking from lesson one

    Pimsleur

    Audio course A0 to B1

    150 thirty minute audio lessons in five levels, about 80 hours, in which you answer out loud and words come back at spaced intervals; Level 1 also teaches you to read with correct pronunciation. Pimsleur publishes no CEFR level: one learner who finished all five levels put their speaking around B1 and their listening at A2 to B1. All Access adds an AI Conversation Coach for French, in beta.

    Good

    • You speak from the first lesson, and every lesson brings words back at spaced intervals.
    • Audio first, so it works in a car or on a walk, and French is one of two courses with the AI Conversation Coach on All Access.

    Where it stops

    • No grammar explanations (“No focus on grammar”, in that learner’s review), little writing, and Pimsleur does not say which French it teaches.
    • US$150 a level or US$575 for all five on pimsleur.com, and the 30 day guarantee does not cover plans that start with the 7 day trial or purchases made through Apple or Google.
    • Coverage for French: 150 lessons in 5 levels, about 80 hours; the variety is not stated; no vendor CEFR claim
    • Free: A 7 day trial that opens every lesson, and one free lesson per language. The 30 day money back guarantee covers only subscriptions bought on pimsleur.com or by phone without the trial, not App Store or Google Play purchases.
    • Price: All Access (51 languages) US$20.99 a month or US$131.99 to US$164.99 a year (US$11 to US$13.75 a month) in the US App Store; on pimsleur.com French Levels 1 to 5 cost US$575 once or US$150 a level (US$402.50 and US$105 in a sale running on 27 September 2026), and a one-language Premium subscription US$19.95 a month, per a June 2026 review.
    • Platforms: iOS, Android, web, CarPlay, Android Auto

    Best for: A trip in two months, a long commute, or anyone who wants to speak French before they read it.

  5. 5

    Best free listening exercises

    TV5MONDE

    Video exercises A1 to B2

    TV5MONDE turns news reports, music videos and film clips into exercises graded from A1 to B2, with subtitles and a transcript, more than 2,000 of them on the site and new ones every week. The French is “as it is spoken in Paris, Geneva, Dakar, Montreal, Brussels”, in the app’s words. Everything is free.

    Good

    • Real French from several countries, graded by level, with a transcript, grammar memos and a 14 question level test.
    • TCF practice tests and a simulator made with France Éducation international and the Paris Île-de-France Chamber of Commerce and Industry, at no cost.
    • Rated 4.8 in the US App Store and on Google Play, with offline downloads in the app.

    Where it stops

    • Stops at B2, with no C1 material.
    • Comprehension only: no speaking practice and no feedback on your own French.
    • Coverage for French: A1 to B2; French from Paris, Geneva, Dakar, Montreal, Brussels and elsewhere; 2,000+ exercises
    • Free: Everything: the video exercises, grammar and vocabulary memos, the level test and the TCF practice tests, with offline downloads in the app.
    • Price: Free: no subscription and no in-app purchases, on the web and in the TV5MONDE EDU app.
    • Platforms: Web, iOS, Android

    Best for: Free, levelled listening practice from A1 to B2 in more than one accent, and anyone with a TCF date.

  6. 6

    Best live tutors

    Preply

    Tutor marketplace A1 to C2

    Preply is a marketplace of French tutors you can filter by regional accent (Parisian, Canadian, African) and by country of birth, paid for as a subscription. Below B1, pick a trained teacher who can explain in your language; from B1 on, a weekly lesson gives you a person who hears your French and corrects it.

    Good

    • An accent filter over 6,953 French tutors, and a separate Canadian French page with 548 tutors for Quebec French.
    • Tutors from US$3 a lesson for French, with the page’s own average at US$21.

    Where it stops

    • Billed every 28 days, four lessons at least, and lessons not scheduled before the renewal date expire.
    • No single lessons: italki sells them pay as you go, with 1,282 French tutors at US$4 to US$60 an hour and no subscription.
    • Coverage for French: 6,953 French tutors with an accent filter (Parisian, Canadian, African); 548 on the Canadian French page
    • Free: Nothing instructional.
    • Price: Set by each tutor, US$3 to US$40+ a lesson for French (the tutor page’s own average is US$21), billed as a set number of lessons (four at least) every 28 days, preply.com.
    • Platforms: iOS, Android, web

    Best for: Anyone from A1 who needs a person to talk to, with the accent of the place they are heading to.

  7. 7

    Best for reading real books

    Lingo7

    Our app Parallel reader A2 to C1

    Lingo7 puts a translation in your own language under every sentence of a French book (49 languages), reads it aloud and drills saved words in 12 kinds of exercise. Of its 99 French books, 2 are B1, 67 B2 and 30 C1 by our estimate; below B2, start with the Stories. It is our app, and it has no course.

    Good

    • A translation in your own language under every sentence (49 languages), there before you tap; LingQ shows a word’s meaning on a tap and translates a whole sentence only in its Sentence Mode, per its help centre.
    • Tap a word for its dictionary form, IPA, the meaning it has in this sentence first, other meanings with examples, the forms of irregular verbs and its audio.
    • Saved words come back on a 7 level schedule (1 to 230 days) in 12 kinds of exercise: recall, choose the translation or picture, listen and type, build the word, fill the gap in a sentence.
    • Every sentence has a play button for shadowing: native audio in a France accent at 8 speeds (0.6 to 1.4), a loop of 3 or 5 plays on a long press and a pause to say it back.

    Where it stops

    • iOS and Android only for books (the short Stories can be read on lingoseven.com); on a laptop, LingQ and Readlang work in a browser.
    • One voice, from France, with no Quebec, Belgian or Swiss accent; no grammar course and no pronunciation scoring, and the Practice tab is an AI chat that does not assess your accent.
    • The shelf starts at B2 in practice, its levels are our own estimate rather than a publisher’s CEFR label, and the French is dated: mostly classics from the 17th century to the 1920s, many in the passé simple.
    • Coverage for French: 99 public domain books, by our estimate 2 at B1, 67 at B2 and 30 at C1; Stories in two versions, adapted for A1 to A2 and original for B1 to B2; your own books in 7 formats (EPUB, PDF, FB2, DOCX, TXT, Markdown, HTML); native audio in a France accent; translation into 49 languages
    • Free: The first page of any book or story in the app; the short Stories can also be read in full on the website.
    • Price: US$5 a month or US$30 a year (US$2.50 a month), identical in the App Store and Google Play. No lifetime.
    • Platforms: iOS, Android

    Best for: B2 readers who want the French classics with their own language under the text, A2 and B1 learners starting with the Stories, and anyone with their own EPUBs.

  8. 8

    Best graded video from zero

    Dreaming French

    Comprehensible input video A0 to B1

    Graded videos in French, tagged from Superbeginner to Advanced, with an hours tracker, in the same app as Dreaming Spanish. The French library is young: 754 videos and 155 hours in September 2026, about a tenth of the Spanish one, growing by about 15 hours a month. It teaches no grammar, by design.

    Good

    • Nine guides, seven from France, one from Quebec (Amanda, 117 videos) and one from Lebanon, so you hear more than one French.
    • Progress counted in hours on one ladder for every language (50, 150, 300, 600 hours and up), with 81 to 93 new French videos a month since June 2026.

    Where it stops

    • The library ends near level 3 of that ladder (150 hours): 155 hours in all, 17 of them free, and only 45 videos at Advanced.
    • No grammar, no drills, no placement test and no ordered course for French; pair it with a course.
    • Coverage for French: 754 videos, 155 hours; 7 guides from France, 1 from Quebec, 1 from Lebanon; 4 difficulty tags, no CEFR labels
    • Free: The 87 free French videos (about 17 hours), with search, filters, sorting by difficulty, progress tracking and a watch list. We found no trial.
    • Price: Premium US$9.99 a month for one language, or US$14.99 for Premium Double (Spanish and French), in the US App Store; monthly only, with no yearly or lifetime plan.
    • Platforms: Web, iOS, Android

    Best for: A daily listening habit from the first week, beside a course.

  9. 9

    Best Canadian French course

    Mango Languages

    Conversation course A0 to B1

    A course built on conversations, with grammar notes inside the dialogues, which Mango maps from A1 to B1 over five units and 585 lessons. It is also the only structured Canadian French course we found: French (Canadian), 95 lessons on Québécois. Many US public libraries give it free with a library card.

    Good

    • French (Canadian), 4 units and 95 lessons, beside the main French course of 585 lessons.
    • Free with a card from many US public libraries, and the vendor maps the five French units to A1 to B1.

    Where it stops

    • Stops at about B1 on Mango’s own scale, and the Canadian course is a sixth the size of the French one, with no level we could find.
    • Speaking is listen and repeat.
    • Coverage for French: French to B1 (5 units, 585 lessons) and French (Canadian) (4 units, 95 lessons), counts as of June 2026
    • Free: Full access with a card from a participating US public library; without one, the first lesson of any language.
    • Price: US$13.99 a month or US$120 a year (US$10 a month) for one person, US$19.99 a month for a family, mangolanguages.com; free with a card from many US public libraries.
    • Platforms: Web, iOS, Android

    Best for: A0 to A2 learners with a US library card, and anyone who needs Quebec French from the start.

  10. 10

    Best grammar trainer

    Kwiziq French

    Grammar trainer A1 to C1

    Adaptive grammar quizzes (kwizzes) with a lesson for each point, sorted from A0 to C1 and built with Lawless French, plus a Brainmap of the rules you know. French grammar is where a course’s gaps show (gender, the passé composé against the imparfait, the subjunctive), and Kwiziq finds those gaps and drills them.

    Good

    • Over 15,000 questions across 500 topics, each tied to a lesson, and DELF A1 to B2 guides linked to the lessons.
    • A free level test, 8 to 18 questions per level, that places you from A0 to C1.

    Where it stops

    • Grammar only: no speaking and no listening course, and no store app; the web app needs a connection.
    • $31.49 on the monthly plan, the cheaper yearly price is a promotion, and the free tier stops at 10 kwizzes a month.
    • Coverage for French: Grammar from A0 to C1, no C2; no Quebec content; DELF A1 to B2 guides, no mock exams
    • Free: A level test (one use), 10 kwizzes a month, one notebook, a basic Brainmap and a progress report.
    • Price: $31.49 a month, $78.99 every 3 months ($26.33 a month) or $150.49 a year ($12.54 a month) in a promotion against a regular $201 a year ($16.75 a month), on french.kwiziq.com, which prints $ with no currency code; 7 day money back guarantee.
    • Platforms: Web (installs as a web app)

    Best for: Finding and fixing grammar gaps between A1 and C1, beside a course or a tutor.

  11. 11

    Best podcast course

    Coffee Break French

    Podcast course A0 to B1

    A teacher takes a learner through French on the recording, over four seasons of 40 lessons of 15 to 20 minutes, from Beginners to Advanced, and the audio is free. Mark Pentleton, a former secondary school teacher from Scotland, has run it since 2007, and a native speaker joins in Season 4.

    Good

    • Four seasons of 40 lessons, free on the website and in podcast apps, with Season 1 for complete beginners.
    • Still running: 334 episodes on Apple Podcasts, the latest in September 2026.

    Where it stops

    • The free audio does not show how the words are written; the notes, videos and full lessons cost US$269 a season in the Academy.
    • Until a native speaker joins in Season 4, the French you copy comes from a teacher who is not a native speaker, and no season carries a CEFR level.
    • Coverage for French: Standard French, no Quebec content; 4 seasons of 40 lessons, Beginners to Advanced; no CEFR labels
    • Free: All the podcast audio. The Academy adds the full version of each lesson, videos, notes and quizzes, and shows how the words are written.
    • Price: The podcast is free; the Coffee Break Academy course costs US$269 (£199) a season, once, with lifetime access, or US$1,076 for all four, coffeebreakacademy.com.
    • Platforms: Web, podcast apps

    Best for: Commuters who want a structured audio course from zero at no cost.

  12. 12

    Best for French YouTube

    Language Reactor

    Browser extension B1 to C2

    French subtitles and a translation into your language side by side on YouTube, with a dictionary on click, free for the part that matters. French YouTube has deep learner channels, from Easy French’s street interviews to Français avec Pierre. The Netflix side broke in June 2026 and in September works with known bugs.

    Good

    • Dual subtitles and word lookups are free on any French YouTube video with subtitles, and Easy French subtitles every video in French and English.
    • Pro is US$39.95 a year (US$3.33 a month), and saved words stay exportable to Anki after it ends, per the vendor.

    Where it stops

    • Desktop Chrome and Edge only, and only single words are clickable.
    • Netflix works again in September 2026 but with known bugs: subtitles out of sync after ads, which the vendor acknowledged on its forum, and ASR Pro not transcribing dubbed audio.
    • Coverage for French: Any French YouTube video with subtitles; Netflix working with known bugs in September 2026
    • Free: Dual subtitles, lookups, basic AI explanations.
    • Price: Pro US$5.95 a month, US$13.95 a quarter, US$39.95 a year (US$3.33 a month), languagereactor.com.
    • Platforms: Chrome, Edge (desktop)

    Best for: B1 and up with a laptop, turning French YouTube into listening practice.

Your French stack, by level

  1. A0 to A1

    One free course and your first listening

    Busuu + Duolingo + Dreaming French

    Pick one free course and do it every day: Busuu if you want a syllabus and a French speaker correcting you, Duolingo if the game keeps you going. Watch Dreaming French’s Superbeginner videos from the first week, and put Coffee Break French or Language Transfer’s free Introduction to French in your ears on the commute. Pimsleur is the paid choice if you want to speak before you read; heading for Quebec, take Mango’s Canadian course, free with many US library cards.

  2. A2 to B1

    Graded listening, grammar and a tutor

    TV5MONDE + Kwiziq French + Preply

    Keep your course going to B2, or move to Babbel if you want grammar in order and will pay. Work through TV5MONDE’s A2 and B1 exercises, find your grammar gaps with Kwiziq’s level test, and book a Preply tutor once a week with the accent you need. Start reading with Lingo7’s Stories at A2, then graded readers you import; its shelf of classics starts at B2 in practice, by our estimate.

  3. B2 and up

    Native input and a human

    Lingo7 + Language Reactor + Preply

    Courses thin out here. Read the classics on Lingo7’s shelf or your own books, watch French YouTube with Language Reactor, move from RFI’s Journal en français facile to French radio, and talk about all of it with your tutor. With a DELF, DALF or TEF date, work the official sample papers (for the TCF, TV5MONDE’s practice tests), and book a tutor who has taught that exam.

All 12 at a glance

App Role Levels Coverage for French Free Price
Duolingo Best free daily course A0 to B1 One French, not named, no Canadian course; B2 by Duolingo’s label; 994 units and 1,147 Stories by an unofficial tracker Every lesson; Energy cap on a phone US$13 to 17 a month, US$7 to 10 a month yearly
Busuu Best free course with corrections A1 to B2 330+ lessons, A1 to B2 on the course page (A1 to C1 in the help centre); no Canadian course Whole course, in order, with ads US$10 to 15 a month, US$6 to 12 a month yearly
Babbel Best structured course A1 to B2 Standard European French to B2, with content into C1, by Babbel’s labels; no Canadian course One lesson after sign-up US$18 a month, about US$9 a month yearly
Pimsleur Best for speaking from lesson one A0 to B1 150 lessons in 5 levels, about 80 hours; the variety is not stated; no vendor CEFR claim 7 day trial About US$20 a month, or US$575 once
TV5MONDE Best free listening exercises A1 to B2 A1 to B2; French from Paris, Geneva, Dakar, Montreal, Brussels and elsewhere; 2,000+ exercises All of it Free
Preply Best live tutors A1 to C2 6,953 French tutors with an accent filter (Parisian, Canadian, African); 548 on the Canadian French page None US$3 to 40+ a lesson, subscription only
Lingo7 Best for reading real books A2 to C1 99 public domain books, by our estimate 2 at B1, 67 at B2 and 30 at C1; Stories in two versions, adapted for A1 to A2 and original for B1 to B2; your own books in 7 formats (EPUB, PDF, FB2, DOCX, TXT, Markdown, HTML); native audio in a France accent; translation into 49 languages First page of each book US$5 a month, US$2.50 a month yearly
Dreaming French Best graded video from zero A0 to B1 754 videos, 155 hours; 7 guides from France, 1 from Quebec, 1 from Lebanon; 4 difficulty tags, no CEFR labels 17 hours of free video Free videos; Premium US$9.99 a month
Mango Languages Best Canadian French course A0 to B1 French to B1 (5 units, 585 lessons) and French (Canadian) (4 units, 95 lessons), counts as of June 2026 Free through many US libraries Free via many libraries; US$10 a month yearly
Kwiziq French Best grammar trainer A1 to C1 Grammar from A0 to C1, no C2; no Quebec content; DELF A1 to B2 guides, no mock exams 10 quizzes a month $31.49 a month, $12.54 to 16.75 a month yearly
Coffee Break French Best podcast course A0 to B1 Standard French, no Quebec content; 4 seasons of 40 lessons, Beginners to Advanced; no CEFR labels The podcast lessons Free podcast; US$269 a season
Language Reactor Best for French YouTube B1 to C2 Any French YouTube video with subtitles; Netflix working with known bugs in September 2026 Most of it US$6 a month, US$3.33 a month yearly

Prices are US store or vendor prices as of September 2026, yearly plans shown as the monthly equivalent. The same app often costs less on its own site than in the App Store, and more in Europe than in the US.

Free French resources that earn a place

  • RFI, Le français facile. Exercises tagged from A1 to C1/C2, a level test, and the Journal en français facile: ten minutes of news every weekday with a full transcript. B1 with the transcript, by our estimate.
  • Language Transfer, Introduction to French. 40 free audio tracks in which a teacher builds sentences with a student while you answer out loud, about six or seven hours by the teacher’s own count; the last track came out in 2018. A free first week of French grammar by ear, not a full course. A0 to A1, by our estimate.
  • Easy French. Street interviews in Paris and elsewhere in the French-speaking world, plus “Super Easy” videos in slower French, all with French and English subtitles, four a month; the weekly podcast is free as audio. A2 and up, by our estimate.
  • Français Authentique. Johan Tekfak’s podcast (Monday and Wednesday, 11 to 23 minutes) and YouTube channel, in French, for learners with “solides bases”. B1 and up.
  • InnerFrench podcast archive. 200 episodes of natural spoken French for intermediate learners, growing harder as they go, with transcripts for a free account. The podcast ended on 14 September 2026; the archive stays online. B1 to B2, by our estimate.
  • Lawless French. Free grammar, pronunciation and vocabulary lessons tagged by level, a 30 unit French for Beginners and verb tables for 1,600+ verbs, still updated in September 2026. A1 to C1.
  • WordReference. The Collins English-French dictionary, a conjugator, and forums where native speakers answer usage questions; ads unless you sponsor it. Every level.
  • Larousse. A French dictionary with 135,000 definitions, synonyms, bilingual dictionaries and a conjugator for more than 9,600 verbs. The monolingual dictionary from B1.
  • Reverso Conjugator. Type any infinitive or conjugated form and get the full table, reflexive and negative forms included; ads. A1 and up.
  • Project Gutenberg and French Wikisource. 4,242 French-language ebooks out of US copyright on Gutenberg in September 2026, mostly from the 19th century, and more on fr.wikisource.org, proofread against the scans. B2 and up.
  • DELF and DALF sample papers. France Éducation international’s free sample exams: for each DELF level two full papers with the answer key, the listening transcript, an MP3 per exercise, an oral sample and the marking grids, and samples for the DALF C1 and C2. For the TEF, Le français des affaires has free sample tests with audio.
  • Radio-Canada OHdio. Quebec French podcasts, free outside Canada on Apple Podcasts: Ça s’explique takes one subject and one guest in about fifteen minutes, still publishing in September 2026. Mauril, Radio-Canada’s free Canadian French course, works only in Canada. B2, by our estimate.

What to read in French, level by level

  1. A1. Graded readers, all bought: Hachette’s Lire en français facile at A1 (eleven original stories, full text on audio; US$20.30 list at its US distributor), CLE International’s A1 adaptations of Les trois mousquetaires and Voyage au centre de la Terre, or Didier’s Mondes en VF at A1. Lingo7’s Stories come in a version adapted for A1 to A2, in the app and on lingoseven.com. Le Petit Nicolas (Goscinny and Sempé) is the usual stretch, placed anywhere from A1 to B1.
  2. A2. Adapted classics, bought: Hachette’s A2 Le tour du Monde en 80 jours, Les Misérables and Le Fantôme de l’Opéra, CLE’s A2 Monte-Cristo and Maupassant stories, and Olly Richards’ Short Stories in French for Beginners (A2 to B1, eight stories, US$14.99, audio sold separately). Tintin reads at A2 to B1; buy it. Or Lingo7’s Stories at A2, with audio, in the app.
  3. B1. The first unadapted classics, public domain in the US and in France and on Lingo7’s shelf: Maupassant’s Contes du jour et de la nuit (1885), stories that stand alone (Reclam puts one of them, “La Parure”, at B1 to B2), and Leblanc’s Arsène Lupin, gentleman-cambrioleur (1907), placed at B1 by two learner reading lists; our own estimate puts both books at B2, so try one story first. Buy the rest, as a book or, where the store sells it without DRM, as an EPUB to import: Le Petit Prince (B1, in US copyright until 2039), Camus’s L’Étranger (B1 to B2, told in the passé composé) and Simenon’s Le Chien jaune (B1, a vocabulary of about 2,000 words).
  4. B2. Maupassant’s Le Horla (B2 by Reclam’s school editions) is on Lingo7’s shelf, and Boule de suif (on Project Gutenberg) and Flaubert’s Un cœur simple, both B2, are public domain too. Bought: Faïza Guène’s Kiffe kiffe demain (B1 to B2, with the French of the banlieue and verlan), Anna Gavalda’s twelve stories in Je voudrais que quelqu’un m’attende quelque part (B2) and Marc Levy’s Et si c’était vrai... (B2). Also on the shelf at B2 by our estimate: Le Fantôme de l’Opéra, Voyage au centre de la Terre and Les trois mousquetaires (try an adaptation first).
  5. C1. On Lingo7’s shelf, all public domain (our own estimate puts all but Germinal, Swann and one of the two Madame Bovary editions at B2): Madame Bovary (B2 to C1 by Reclam), Le rouge et le noir and Germinal (B2 to C1 by a learner reading list), La Fontaine’s Fables (C1 by Reclam, 17th-century verse), Le comte de Monte-Cristo (C1 to C2 by one learner site; four volumes, 3,123 pages in the app) and Les Misérables (five volumes, 3,444 pages). Proust’s Du côté de chez Swann, on the shelf too, is the ceiling.

Free on this site: public domain French books you can open in the app, and short French texts at A1, A2 and B1 with a translation.

How we judged

  1. Where it stops. The vendor’s own CEFR ceiling where one is published; where it is not, the stall point independent reviewers agree on.
  2. What is really free. Not the trial: what you can still do on day 30 without paying.
  3. The real price. US store or vendor prices as of the stamp above, yearly plans as a monthly figure, and a note wherever the vendor’s site and the App Store disagree.
  4. Coverage of your language. Store counts include interface languages and phrasebooks; we counted full courses or real content, and said so when the vendor’s own pages disagree.
  5. What happens on renewal and on the way out, from the help pages and the one star reviews rather than the landing page.
  6. Whether it makes you produce the language, or only recognise it.

We have no affiliate deals with any app named here, and none of the links pay us. Prices and coverage come from the vendor’s own help or pricing pages or its US store listing, checked in September 2026, and every other figure names its source in the text; the judgement calls lean on independent reviews, and on the one star reviews for the parts a landing page never shows, like what happens on renewal. Where a vendor’s pages contradict each other, the card says so.

Refund rules, the traps to avoid and the same apps compared by level for every language are on the best apps to learn a language page.

Frequently asked questions

Is Duolingo enough to learn French?

For a start, yes, and it is free: the French course runs to B2 by Duolingo’s own label, with 994 units and 1,147 short Stories by an unofficial count. On its own it is not enough: on a phone the free plan’s Energy runs out after about 2 to 3 lessons a day, by a third-party count (the web version runs on hearts), speaking is mostly short answers, Video Call is paid, and we found no independent test of the B2 label. Add listening (TV5MONDE, Dreaming French) and a person to talk to once you can put a few sentences together.

France or Quebec French: which should I learn, and which apps teach Quebec French?

For most learners, standard French: Duolingo, Babbel, Busuu, Pimsleur, Rosetta Stone and Speak each teach one French, with no Canadian course. If you will live or work in Quebec, or aim at Canadian immigration, add Canadian listening early: Quebec says tu sooner, turns tu into something like “tsu” and has its own everyday words (magasiner, fin de semaine, courriel). The only structured Canadian course we found is Mango’s French (Canadian), 95 lessons, free with many US library cards. For input there are LingQ’s two Quebec courses (72 lessons), Dreaming French’s Quebec guide (117 videos), Clozemaster’s Quebecois set (1,223 sentences) and Radio-Canada’s podcasts; for speaking, Preply’s 548 Canadian French tutors and italki’s tutors from Quebec. Mauril, from CBC and Radio-Canada, is free but works only in Canada.

What is the best free app to learn French?

For a course, Duolingo (every lesson free, with Energy capping study on a phone) or Busuu, whose French page says a free account can work through the whole A1 to B2 course in order, with ads; French speakers correct your answers on the free plan too. For listening, TV5MONDE, free from A1 to B2. Add Language Transfer’s free 40 track introduction, the Coffee Break French podcast and, with a US library card, Mango. For a tutor you pay: Preply from US$3 a lesson on a subscription, or italki from US$4 an hour with no subscription.

How long does it take to learn French?

The US Foreign Service Institute gives French 30 weeks of full-time class and self-study to reach professional working proficiency in speaking and listening, the same 30 weeks as Spanish. Language schools count about 530 to 650 guided hours to B2 (Centre International d’Antibes; Alliance Française de Leeds), which at an hour a day is a year and a half to nearly two years. The apps cover the first part of that; the rest takes listening, reading and people.

Which app prepares for the DELF, TCF or TEF?

None of them is an exam course, so start with the official material: France Éducation international’s free DELF and DALF sample papers, with audio and answer keys, and the free TEF sample tests from Le français des affaires. TV5MONDE has free TCF practice tests and a simulator made with France Éducation international and the Paris Île-de-France Chamber of Commerce and Industry, and Kwiziq has DELF A1 to B2 guides tied to its lessons, without mock exams. On italki, DELF preparation runs US$25 to US$60 an hour and DALF US$35 to US$85, by italki’s own blog. The DELF and DALF are one exam per level and valid for life; the TCF and TEF are scored tests valid for two years. For residence and nationality, France accepts a DELF or DALF diploma with no time limit, or a TCF or TEF result under two years old.

Which app is best for French pronunciation?

For feedback on your own voice, a person: a Preply or italki tutor. Pimsleur makes you answer aloud in every lesson and adds Voice Coach feedback with Premium. Speak scores pronunciation, but an independent tester got full marks with mispronounced words. To hear modern spoken French next to the careful version, French Today’s À Moi Paris records each chapter three ways (slower, enunciated and modern spoken French), and the first five chapters of every level are free.

Can I learn French by reading books on my phone?

Reading grows your vocabulary, and English speakers start ahead, but it will not teach you to follow speech: silent letters, liaison and the dropped ne (kept in under a fifth of spoken negations in corpora since the 1990s) mean the page does not show the sound. Lingo7, our app, puts a translation under each French sentence, reads it aloud in a France accent and drills the words you save in 12 kinds of exercise, for US$5 a month or US$30 a year. Its French shelf starts at B2 in practice, by our estimate, so begin with its Stories or a graded reader, then Maupassant’s Contes du jour et de la nuit and Arsène Lupin around B1 or B2.

Ready to start reading in French?

Read your first page free, in French.